This website is best viewed in Internet Explorer 8 or above. You are currently using an old version of Internet Explorer. Please click on this link to update your browser.

0808 800 2200

Senior Managers

Meet the people behind Epilepsy Scotland

Lesslie Young, Chief Executive

Epilepsy Scotland Manager

Lesslie qualified as a general nurse in 1976 and a midwife in 1978. She worked for ten years as Ward Sister in a gynaecology ward. Her next major posts were leading the introduction of quality assurance systems and performance indicators to hospitals in the public sector in Scotland and then in the private sector in England.

On returning to Scotland she set up a charity providing a home-based teaching system to children with learning disabilities and their families as well as a play group.

Her passion for improving the life of people with epilepsy comes from personal experience. She has a daughter who has epilepsy and learning disabilities so she knows how a diagnosis of epilepsy impacts the person, their family and the community they live in.

Lesslie joined Epilepsy Scotland's training department in 2006 and was appointed Chief Executive in January 2009.

 Kenny McKenna, Services Manager


Robyn Friel, Head of Fundraising

Robyn began her career at Epilepsy Scotland as Database Assistant supporting the Fundraising Department before progressing to the role of Fundraiser.  After three years with Epilepsy Scotland Robyn moved on to hold more senior fundraising positions in different organisations, with a focus on Community and Event Fundraising.  She has managed many large scale fundraising events across Scotland and has overseen fundraising activities as part of major charity partnerships, including The Ryder Cup 2014.  

Robyn returned to Epilepsy Scotland in 2016 to lead the fundraising team to raise over £400,000 each year through payroll and individual giving, trusts, events and community fundraising activities.  She is currently Co-Chair of the Institute of Fundraising Professional Development Committee and sits on the Institute of Fundraising Executive Committee.