This website is best viewed in Internet Explorer 8 or above. You are currently using an old version of Internet Explorer. Please click on this link to update your browser.

0808 800 2200

Journalist of the Year

Media Award 2014/15

We are not running an award this year but plan to again in 2015.

Media Award 2013

Last year, we offered two £300 prizes and award trophies for the best article and the best online broadcasting programme about epilepsy.  The print award considered stories printed in the Scottish press and periodicals between 1 February 2012 and 31 January 2013.  Our longstanding award helps to inform the public and raise media awareness of epilepsy issues in Scotland.  A panel of judges, including a Scottish national Union of Journalists representative, selected the winning submission.

For any enquires about our award, please email or call Jaqui on 0131 226 5458.

2013 Media Award Winners


Herald Society editor Stephen Naysmith and URTV presenter Jo De Sylva were prizewinning finalists in our 2013 Media award.  Their respective print and online/broadcasting features about epilepsy won high praise from the judging panel.  Stephen Naysmith probed the importance of diagnosing epilepsy correctly and found that a third of people assessed by the Scottish Epilepsy Centre do not have the condition.  Jo De Sylva’s programme investigated the barriers to finding and keeping a job if you have epilepsy.  Read Stephen’s winning article, see Jo’s programme and view the press release.

This year's panellists included Scots Makar Liz Lochhead, novelists Neil Forsyth and Michael Malone with Scottish National Union of Journalists Secretary Paul Holleran.  Print category runner-up was Scottish Sunday Express writer Paula Murray and fellow Scottish Daily Express journalist Jane Symons was highly commended.   BBC Radio Scotland’s Peter McManus was runner up for his Medical Matters show ‘Kids with chronic conditions.’


2012 Journalist of the Year Winners

Lorraine Wilson, writing for the Herald and Sue Mott for the Scottish Mail on Sunday tied first place as our joint Journalists of the Year.  Both winning articles were inspirational.  Lorraine Wilson showcased world-class support for families with a new world-class epilepsy centre in Glasgow, while Sue Mott highlighted the strict regime world-class athlete Dai Greene follows to overcome life-threatening seizures on and off the track.  Read Lorraine and Sue's winning articles and the press release.

This year's panellists included novelists Caro Ramsay and Gordon Ferris, with Scottish National Union of Journalists Secretary Paul Holleran and BBC Scotland's Head of New and Current Affairs, John Boothman.  Runner-up was Craig Campbell whose Weekly News story 'Christmas can be dangerous for me' described the rare condition of photosensitive epilepsy.